The passion and intellect of faculty have enabled Smith School of Business to become Canada’s premier business school and one of the best in the world. The Smith School of Business Faculty Hall of Fame recognizes the School’s most outstanding faculty members whose lasting contributions in teaching, research and/or service have brought distinction and honour to the School. Inductees will be a source of inspiration to faculty, staff, students and alumni.

Inductees to the Smith Faculty Hall of Fame will have been deeply committed to the School’s mission and vision:

  • Mission – We develop outstanding leaders with a global perspective, and create new knowledge that advances business and society
  • Vision – To be one of the world's most innovative and influential business schools

Eligibility and Nominations

Smith School of Business faculty members who have not been working at Smith for at least two years, and who held faculty positions for 10 years or more, are eligible for nomination. This includes faculty who have retired, resigned or passed away.

  • "Faculty" - is inclusive of any rank
  • "Retired" - indicates official retirement from Queen's University (applies to tenured faculty and continuing adjuncts) or former term adjuncts who have not held a contract with Smith for two years or more.

Nominations can be made by any member of the Smith community: alumnus, donor, friend, faculty, staff or retiree.

Nominations are presently closed.

Selection Criteria

  • Inductees will have made an extraordinary contribution to advance the mission and vision of Smith – in teaching, research, and/or service.
  • An inductee’s contribution must be so significant that it outlives their career at Smith.
  • Nominees will have conducted themselves in a manner consistent with high ethical standards.


Nominees will be divided into two categories:

  • Founding Leaders (1919 – 1966)
  • Contemporary Leaders (from 1966 onward).


Nominations will be invited approximately every five to seven years, and may be adjusted to coincide with key events at the School.

A new Selection Committee will be formed each year the inductions are made.

Members of the Selection Committee will broadly represent Smith School of Business stakeholder communities:

  • Smith Dean as Chair of the Selection Committee
  • Chair of Smith Advisory Board
  • Provost and VP‐Academic (or designate)
  • Principal (or designate)
  • Smith “Visionary” Donors (donors to Smith of $5 million or more.)
  • Alumni and students representatives (weighted to size of program) – Commerce, MBA, EMBA, graduate programs
  • Current senior faculty member(s)
  • Current staff member(s)