Skip to main content

Meet Smith’s New Advisory Board Members


Smith School of Business Advisory Board Chair Benita Warmbold (BCom’80), Chair of the Nominating Committee Sharon Ranson (BCom’80), and Dean David Saunders have strategically repositioned the School’s board to ensure a diverse range of experience, expertise and viewpoints are represented, including a better gender balance.

As the first Canadian business school to join the 30% Club, a global organization dedicated to accelerating the representation of women at senior levels in business, Smith is committed to having women represent at least 30% of the members on its advisory bodies.

Earlier in 2016, Smith welcomed 13 new members to the Advisory Board, who are all briefly profiled below. Learn more about Smith’s advisory board.

Leigh Chalmers, BCom’95, is a Partner at PwC’s assurance practice in Toronto. She has more than 20 years of experience serving clients in the insurance industry. She is also the firm’s Chief Inclusion Officer, responsible for promoting an environment that embraces diversity. She served as a Director of the Canadian Children’s Book Centre for six years and is also a member of the Granite Club Board.

Somen Mondal, MBA’06, is the co-founder and CEO of Ideal. Its website,, matches salespeople with their perfect sales job. Previously, he co-founded and was CEO of Field ID, until its acquisition by Master Lock LLC in 2012. 

Andrew Moor is the President and CEO of Equitable Bank and former President of SMED International and Invis Inc. He is a member of the Institute of Corporate Directors and a director of both the Trust Companies Association and Sleep Country Canada. 

Vanessa Morgan, BCom’87, is President, CEO and a Director of Morgan Meighen & Associates Ltd., a Toronto investment-management firm. She is also the Chairman and a Director of two of the firm’s TSX-listed funds, and has served on the boards of several Canadian arts and charitable organizations. 

Eme Onuoha, EMBA’08, is VP, Global Government Affairs (Canada) at Xerox. His previous roles in government included Chief of Staff to the Minister of National Defense and Director of Operations in the Privy Council Office. He serves on the boards of McMaster University and the Community Foundation of Ottawa.

Julia Robertson, BCom’86, is a Partner and Portfolio Manager at Toronto-based Delaney Capital Management Ltd., which she joined in 1994. She has served on the board of Tarragon Theatre as its President and is currently a member of Opera Atelier’s Board. 

Michele Romanow, BSc(Eng)’07, MBA’08, is a co-founder of Clearbanc, a provider of financial services to independent contractors, and a ‘Dragon’ on CBC’s hit TV show, Dragons’ Den. Previously, she co-founded e-commerce platforms and Snap By Groupon. Michele serves on the boards of Vail Resorts and Shad Valley. 

Bruce Sellery, BCom’93, is a business journalist, personal finance expert and best-selling author (Moolala). He’s a regular contributor to CITY-TV’s Cityline, CBC’s The Exchange, and such magazines as Chatelaine, Today's Parent and Moneysense

Patti Perras Shugart, BCom’86, is the Managing Director and Head of Corporate Banking and Global Credit at RBC Capital Markets. She has been honoured by Women in Capital Markets (Award for Leadership in 2010 and Champion of Change in 2016) and was named to WXN’s list of Canada’s Top 100 Most Powerful Women in 2015.

Steven Smith, BCom’77, is the National Co–Chair of the law firm Osler, Hoskin & Harcourt LLP, a member of its Executive Committee and a partner in the firm’s Corporate Department in Toronto. He has served on numerous public and private boards over the course of his career. 

Andrea Sotak, MBA’03, is the Managing Director and Chief Investment Officer of DRI Capital, a Toronto firm that specializes in healthcare investing. Her responsibilities include overseeing research and investment analysis, deal execution, portfolio analytics, financing and investor relations.

Dino Trevisani, CQ-EMBA’09, is the President and GM of IBM Canada. He is a board member for the Conference Board of Canada and the Canadian Business/Higher Education Council; on the business school Advisory Council for Cornell University; and is a member of York Region’s United Way Campaign Cabinet. 

Jay Wright, BCom’81, is the President of Constellation Brands Canada, Canada’s leading wine company, which includes such brands as Jackson-Triggs, Inniskillin and Sumac Ridge. He sits on the boards of the Canadian Vintners Association and The California Wine Institute.